Polvo

I’m not the biggest Polvo fan out there, but I definitely jumped at the opportunity to see a band this important reunite at Bottletree last night.

Let me first say this.  Have you ever seen someone get their ears rocked off?  Like, his lobes on the ground, geysers of blood pulsing out of the side of his face, yet still banging his head along to the beat?  Yeah, well that happened (it didn’t actually happen).  That’s how much (and how loudly) Polvo rocks.

The music was noisy and energetic, and somehow came off as incredibly polished in its sloppy style.  And I say that not to be critical in any way … this standard rock quartet is loaded with talent that seems to have only grown over the years.  The messiness of their sound is completely intentional, a defining characteristic.  Though I haven’t seen them live, Sonic Youth is all I could think when listening to this band last night.  But maybe more math rock.  And more noise.  Droning bass throughout, effects pedals littering the floor in front of both guitars.  Ash Bowie kept whipping out these magnificent, rare 6-string axes.

I think they only had something like 6 songs on their setlists, but fear not.  That was only because they gave each one at least 10 minutes, with much of that time being extended in raucous but highly organized rock.  A number of songs were new, and you could see the excitement all over the thirty-somethings’ faces as they consumed fresh meat from their high school heroes.

~ by jazzychaz on December 5, 2008.

2 Responses to “Polvo”

  1. that shit was amazing. I almost flet like I got set on fire, and my soul turned into smoke and rose into the avondale sky while my charred carcass stood stunned in the bottletree being slowly disintegrated by the performance until all that was left of me was a pile of charcoal glowing orange and pulsating in intensity with the rhythm and the noise.

  2. very nice

Leave a comment